1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is My "Acton" Too High?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Liberty MO, Mar 5, 2008.

1. Liberty MO

Liberty MO

Aug 7, 2007
    I am a newbie, just bought my first bass about 4 months ago. I have noticed that my fingers and forearms are sore after long periods of playing. I feel like pressing the strings down on the fretboard takes more effort than it should. After looking through the archives, my "action" may be too high. Thanks for the help, this forum has been great for a new player.

1. How do I know what is too high?
    2. Would an adjustment possibly help me?
    3. Is this something that I can do without screwing up my bass?
    4. Does anyone have a photo comparison of high to low action?

2. santucci218

santucci218

Jan 26, 2007
    Pittsburgh
    take it to a music store and ask if you can watch them set it up. i do it for my customers.

3. Liberty MO

Liberty MO

Aug 7, 2007
    Just curious as to what the going rate at a music store for this service is?

4. Um, you are aware that action is essentially just how high the strings are eh?

5. Chipsonfire

Chipsonfire

Jul 20, 2007
    Socorro, NM
    Whether its too high is a matter of feel. If it feels too high, then it is too high. I adjusted my action for the first time a week or two ago and it made my bass much nicer to play. I'm still a beginner, too, but I just read through the Mr Gearhead tutorial once or twice, then referred back to it as I did the adjustment. It took a while to get everything right (equal height on the saddles, intonation set correctly, relief set properly) but it was worth it and a great learning experience. :)

6. Liberty MO

Liberty MO

Aug 7, 2007