Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is tablature really that bad???

Discussion in 'Tablature and Notation [BG]' started by Insomnia_Junkie, Jun 18, 2005.

1. My friend (A professional bassist) has told me numerous times that I should actually read notation and/or ear sight it instead of reading tablature because it can be detrimental to your musical knowledge as far as knowing what note it is and if it's the "right" note or not. I have been playing bass for almost 2 years now and that's pretty much all I can read is tablature. Next month I am going to start taking lessons because I feel if I want to take "bassing" seriously I have to know what I'm doing.

What do you all think???

2. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

To me, tabs are practically useless. I only look for one when I want a "second opinion" on fingerings/positions. Standard notation is the way to go.

3. So you think it's a good way to go, i mean it's like I'm learning the bass all over again

4. `ash

`ash

Feb 26, 2004
    Melbourne
    i think a good portion of players be it bass or guitarist's use tab more than will admit to.

I wouldnt be where i am today without tabs. I think they are excellent resource for someone with no music knowledge and who needs a starting point on the instrument.

How much you rely on tabs yourself is dependant on how far you want to further your skills as a musician.

Tabs can be very limiting, incorrect and should not be a replacent for learning standard notation.

I use tabs and sheet music equally. Depending on what is available for what song i want to learn. I prefer music books because they are more accurate where tabs are more likely to be someone interpretation of how the song goes.