1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is the Ampeg SVT CL too powerful for 2x210AV cabs?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Kuchar, Jun 11, 2018.

1. Kuchar

Kuchar

May 31, 2006
    Michigan
    Hey everyone,
    Been reading some threads from past questions but couldn't really find a solid answer to my question.

I've been gigging an Avatar B410 Neo for about 8 years now and it's pretty beat up and now has a blown speaker. Rather than replacing the speaker I'd like to get a pair of cabs to replace it.

I was looking into the SVT 410HLF but will be unable to transport it, so I'm wanting to get a pair of 2x10s. I've heard some good things about the 210AVs but I'm worried that setting my Ampeg SVT CL will be too much for them. Just wanting to see if anyone else has tried this and if I should expect a huge drop off in volume from the Avatar 410 cab or if I'll be very prone to blowing the cabs up with this head.

Also, there is a Ampeg SVT 210HE cab for sale on craigslist locally, but I doubt I'll be able to get a matching cab anytime soon since they seem pretty hard to find, was wondering if anyone has tried pairing that with a 210AV cab.

Thanks everyone for any input!
    Appreciate it.

2. Kro

Kro Supporting Member

May 7, 2003
    New Jersey
    I've never personally tried them, so I can't comment on the sound, but on paper they don't seem like a bad match as best as I can tell.

How hard do you typically run your SVT? Noticeable distortion territory?

3. Kuchar

Kuchar

May 31, 2006
    Michigan
    Thanks for the reply!

The "clean" signal is fairly clean, I do use a couple OD pedals that push it into that territory, though.

4. Wasnex

Wasnex

Dec 25, 2011
    I believe @JimmyM has played an SVT through a pair of 210AVs.