1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is the bass THAT important to the sound?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by RabidMusic, Aug 13, 2020.

1. RabidMusic

RabidMusic Supporting Member

Jan 29, 2012
    Kentucky
    Total newb here asking a question that is probably obvious to many, but here goes...

I have three basses. Well, more than three, but they fall into three categories. Fender Jazz, Ibanez SR1400, and now, a Gretsch short scale. I've also picked up a Line 6 Go and HX Stomp and am starting to program my own patches. Most of the time I use the Gretsch because I am testing to see if I want to convert entirely to short scale. As I program those patches on the Line 6 while playing the Gretsch, and I going to suffer a noticeable difference when I change to the Fender or Ibanez? Is it a difference in sound that a tweak to the eq will handle, is it something that I will not be able to deal with and thus need to create separate patches for the three brands, or is it nothing to be concerned about?

lomo likes this.
  2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Assuming the thing is functional and in tune, bass players are really the only ones that care about the differences. No one knows or cares why that weird looking guy is on the stage with some kind of big guitar.

gebass6, Hubba-Whaa, Oddly and 76 others like this.
  3. Qlanq

Qlanq

Jul 9, 2007
    Swansea
    Gorn is right there.
    Although, for me, the bass that plays the best makes me want to make it sound the best.

Eric Kjelstrom, lomo, Xhaxo and 8 others like this.
  4. RabidMusic

RabidMusic Supporting Member

Jan 29, 2012
    Kentucky
    So just play. I can get into that. Thanks.

Oddly, Ronzo, retslock and 10 others like this.
  5. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD Supporting Member

Feb 20, 2005
    Syracuse NY
    Endorsing artist: Dingwall Guitars