1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is the particle collider at CERN going to be the end of us?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Linas, Sep 8, 2008.

1. Linas

Linas

Jan 6, 2005
    Chicago
    CERN has announced that the first attempt to circulate a beam in the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) will be made on 10 September. Will they create a black hole that will destroy the universe??? What do the TB physicists think? :bag:

2. Jonyak

Jonyak

Oct 2, 2007
    Ottawa, Ont
    I hope so.

3. Techmonkey

Techmonkey

Sep 4, 2004
    Wales, UK
    nah, they're not attempting to divide by zero or find the higgs boson yet. they're just doing a test run I think.

I'm actually genuinely excited to see physics featured so prominently in the news though. Whilst I've given up hope of being a nuclear physicist, I still think it's importance is huge... and it's great to see non-physicists actually interested in it too. :)

4. Brad Barker

Brad Barker

Apr 13, 2001
    berkeley, ca
    no.

i am so supremely confident that the LHC isn't going to kill humanity that, if it should, i will personally pay each and every one of you ten dollars.

5. TheXym

TheXym

Oct 19, 2006
    Robert Sawyer wrote a pretty interesting novel called "Flash Forward" based upon a what-if regarding the collider tests at CERN. I don't want to give the story away, but it was a pretty good read :)

6. I'll double you up, and pay each and every one of you $20.

:rollno:

....the whacks are coming out of the woodwork now, aren't they...wonder how they'll react when they REALLY start using the thing!

7. No.

It is not going to happen. :)

8. TallLankyBastyd

TallLankyBastyd

Jan 31, 2007
    Seattle
    Q: Why are quantum physicists so poor at sex?
    A: Because when they find the position, they can't find the momentum, and when they have the momentum, they can't find the position.