1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is the Vintage Modified Jazz Bass worth the extra money?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Madcap, Oct 24, 2013.

1. Madcap

Madcap

Oct 21, 2012
    Australia
    I have been playing Bass for two years now, and I was looking high and low on affordable Bass guitars for the coming year and I noticed the Squier Affinity Jazz Bass which I instantly loved. At $280 I thought was really cheap for such a Bass that get's rave reviews over, and I'd be able to get it before the year is over for sure. But then I browsed more and found a Squier Vintage Modified Jazz Bass for $450. Being $170 more than the former I was wondering if it's really worth the extra money? That also means waiting past the new year just to rack up some more cash. With this SX Bass I've had for a little over a year, it's getting to be "broken down". I definitely want to up the ante a bit.

It's clear to see that the latter is better, I've seen videos and reviews of it and such and it looks like the Bass for me. But before that I thought the same with the Affinity. It probably doesn't seem like that much more money wise but for my dad, that's a different story. :D

2. I was going to say that your prices are absurd...until I noticed you're in Australia.

It's a MUCH better bass. Even here, where the VM Jazz is closer to $250, it's 10x the bass that the affinity is.

3. Madcap

Madcap

Oct 21, 2012
    Australia
    I think I'm leaning more towards that then. But I still need to buy a decent amp since I'm stuck with my SX one. (Yeah, I bought full SX everything haha.).

4. SX isn't necessarily bad. :) I'd suggest looking into the GK MB series, or the Ampeg PF, or the ToneHammer TH. They're small, but pack a HUGE punch. :D

5. Madcap

Madcap

Oct 21, 2012
    Australia