1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is there a problem with MXR pedals

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by DwaynieAD, Nov 22, 2010.

1. more specificly the M288 octave and the M82 envelope filter.

I am new to the realm of effects on bass, but both of these pedals interest me, yet i seem to be seeing a fair amount of both up for sale on the For Sale forums here on TB

so is there something wrong with these pedals or are the bass gods just shining upon me?

2. slaps76

slaps76

Jul 10, 2008
    Medford, MA
    I've recently acquired both, and think they both do what their supposed to do very well. The M82 is plain awesome, in my opinion. Could be just the pedals aren't being used by the people selling them, or they don't give the sound they're looking for. People love the EXH Micro Synth, and I dropped it in favor of these two pedals, because I couldn't easily get the sounds I needed from it.

3. Nope, nothing wrong. Both are excellent effects that I'd recommend. The reason you see them up for sale a lot on TB is because they're new pedals and they're very popular right now so a lot of people (on TB) are buying them. Not everyone is going to like what they do so some will be sold off. Just the usual TB trend/flavor of the month.

That being said, the Octaver has been the best tracking analog octaver I've used, including the EBS Octabass. The Filter is really bright and is a little tough to dial in exactly but has some very good sounds in it. Try them both and see what you think.

4. Lorenzini

Lorenzini

Dec 31, 2004
    Los Angeles
    The MXR Octave pedal is one of the best, and most versatile available.

5. Hans Gruber

Hans Gruber

Jun 18, 2003
    Los Angeles
    Concur. ALL are great pedals. I'm selling one, sold the other. Oddly I KEPT the Micro Synth in favor of all those.