Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is there a sub-$1000 bass king?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Alacritan, Aug 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alacritan

Alacritan

Aug 6, 2002
    Kingston, NY
    I'm a guitarist, and I use a Reverend Hellhound 40/60 combo. It's widely regarded as the best tube amp for under 1000 dollars. Now that I'm thinking of playing bass, is there a King of Cheap Basses? I'm looking in the 500-800 range for a Tool/Soundgarden type sound. Any suggestions? Include any mods ie bass/pickup combos you think are good, since it seems every last stock pickup on earth sucks balls.

2. rickbass

rickbass Supporting Member

No, and I'll tell you a major reason why;

- because the bass market is so much smaller than the guitar market, incredibly wonderful tonewoods are offered to bassists because the smaller demand of the bass market means that the bass makers don't limit your choices to woods that are always plentiful and relatively cheap. As a matter of fact, we bassists compete with gunstock makers for the finest woods. The guitar market is too large to offer exotic tonewoods that are in limited supply for fear they will irritate their potential customers.

Moreover, it seems like guitar pickup choices are limtied to Strat or Les Paul variations to the point of absolute boredom. Not so with basses. At the risk of seeming self-adulatory, we bassists like "frontiers" not "fences." If you don't believe that, I can cite some quotes from big name makers that back that up. Or, call Larry Pollack at Aero Pickups and he'll tell you the big differences he has experienced between bassists and guitarists.

So, I don't consider we bassists "better" than guitarist, we are just more open to discovery than legacy, IMO.

3. Alacritan

Alacritan

Aug 6, 2002
    Kingston, NY