1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is there a way for a newbie to know if their bass needs a setup?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Passive Jay, Dec 18, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Passive Jay

Passive Jay

Aug 17, 2012
    I am a novice to bass playing at best. My new bass seems ok to me but I am not really a good judge to say the least, is there a way for me to tell if it is set up right and has ok strings? I can always just take it to guitar center but I suspect they will tell me it needs a setup regardless of if it does or not.

Thanks in advance!

2. Passive Jay

Passive Jay

Aug 17, 2012
    crap, just realized i put this in the wrong spot, sorry!

3. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    If you're comfortable with it than that's a start but it could probably be more comfortable. People generally prefer lower string height and a straighter neck. If you take a good picture from the side of the neck that would help. Then there's intonation. That's part of the process.

Badwater and Passive Jay like this.
  4. Spidey2112

Spidey2112

Aug 3, 2016
    Jay, there's a really good article online (Google Premier Guitar bass setup), and check out John Carruthers videos on setup as well... up to you whether you want to get some use out of the strings you got with your bass.

Do a setup on the originals, then later on get some new strings, and do it all over again... it's good practice. Good luck!

5. JxBass

JxBass Supporting Member

Aug 5, 2008
  6. Whippet

Whippet

Aug 30, 2014
    2.4 mm or somewhere around there on the 12th fret. No buzz, no choke, and I am fine. I personally need it around that spot to play. That's just me.

Some people are fine at 3mm. Some need 1.9 or even less. But I think 2.4 mm is not too drastic and a realistic number.

Passive Jay and Spidey2112 like this.
  7. Spidey2112

Spidey2112

Aug 3, 2016