1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is there a way to achieve a vibes sound...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by FreaqyFrequency, Apr 25, 2009.

1. akin to that in this video, without using a multi-effect processor?

2. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    With a bass guitar?

3. Dogbertday

Dogbertday Commercial User

Jul 10, 2007
    SE Wisconsin
    Blaine Music LLC
    I'm going to go ahead and say no... i'm not an expert but you'd need multiple effects or a midi bass or something to get this sound

4. fightthepower

fightthepower

Jan 7, 2008
    San Diego
    If you just want the 'vibe' sound.. how about a vibe pedal? Am I missing something here?

5. fightthepower

fightthepower

Jan 7, 2008
    San Diego
    The 'Vintage Vibe Stage Vibe' in the video is apparently a 'recreation of the original 1960's tremolo' so I was a bit confused by your post. Is the Fender Rhodes supposed to mimic the sound of vibes?(or are the keys/hammers hitting vibes instead of strings?) I'd never thought of it but I can see the similarity in sound.

As far as sounding like vibes, I guess you could get kind of close with a hog or other harmonizer with the right kind of envelope controlling the attack and shaping the sound. I think a multi like the gr20 or something would be the best bet, but the HOG and POG have a similar tone and using the +octave and envelope section (or even just the 'spectral gate), and a little reverb you can dial in a vibey sound.

6. KeithPas

KeithPas Supporting Member

May 16, 2000
    Poulsbo,Wa
    You will probably not be able to make your bass sound like a Fender Rhodes no matter what you do with it but you can get some "Rhodes like" tones using false harmonics.

7. funkifiedsoul

funkifiedsoul Supporting Member

Mar 22, 2007