Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is there a way to test an amps output power?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by cauda, Apr 1, 2004.

1. cauda

cauda

Apr 1, 2004
    Boone, NC
    Hi, I just ran across this forum today and was looking through some of the posts. There seem to be some really intelligent people in here. Anyway, I may be having a problem with my Yorkville XM200 amp. The thing is less than two months old and it seems to be losing volume. Its rated at 200 watts and when I first got it, a volume setting of about 3 was plenty enough when I was practicing with my band. Now I need to turn it up to about 7 just to be heard and if I go any louder I start getting distortion. Could I just be going deaf or can an amp get gradually quieter? Is there anyway to test the output power of the amp? I work as a two way radio tech, so I have a good understanding of electronics and have access to all sorts of test equipment. Any advice is apperciated.

2. Bob Lee (QSC)

Bob Lee (QSC) In case you missed it, I work for QSC Audio! Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Jul 3, 2001
    Costa Mesa, Calif.
    Technical Communications Developer, QSC Audio
    You'll need an audio sine wave generator, a load resistor, an RMS voltmeter, and either an oscilloscope or a distortion analyzer.

The load resistor must be of a value that corresponds to the load impedance specified in the amp's power rating, like 8 or 4 ohms. And it must be rated for at least the power level you're testing for--in your case, 200 watts.

Set the sine wave generator for 1 kHz and turn it all the way down.

Connect the load resistor, voltmeter, and the distortion analyzer or oscilloscope to the amp output and the sine wave generator to the amp input.