Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is there an all-in-one stereo pre-poweramp solution for a stereo (fx) rig...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jetforcex, Mar 14, 2005.

1. jetforcex

jetforcex

Sep 23, 2003
    Or a solid state stereo preamp that would do well as part of a modular stereo rig?

I play bass more like metal guitar (I'm a guitarist who prefers bass frequencies, fatter strings, and bass gear, go figure) and run:

Bass -> Fulltone Bassdrive -> Amp

Recently I discovered thru headphones running the Bassdrive to something called a Yamaha UD Stomp modulation device can yield a MASSIVE distortion sound field that I would like to get out of the headphones and into the atmosphere at large.

The ideal would be Bass -> Bassdrive -> UD Stomp -> ??? -> 2 identical cabs acting as "left" and "right"

UD Stomp has two 1/4" outputs so I just need to fill that gap in the chain with one magic box or a magic stereo preamp running to something like a QSC power amp.

I did every conceivable search related to stereo rigs on the forum here and all I came up with is the Alembic F-2b. Got to be more options out there.

I would be so thankful for any help, this sound is too good not to pursue. :help:

2. jusplayinmybass

jusplayinmybass

Apr 17, 2003
    Conyers, Ga
    Keith McMillan Instruments, SIT Strings, Accugroove Cabinets
    Maybe the Eden Navigator into a QSC power amp.

3. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    Sure, Man:

The SWR SM-500 has 250W each side to 4-Ohms; 150/side to 8-Ohms. Monaural inupt for your uh.. big, low guitar with a mono effect send - then a stereo effects return to twin amp sections.

Valve input, Aural enhancer, 4-band semi-parametric EQ...

http://www.swrsound.com/products/proseries/sm500.html

Killer sound too, I hear. I'm thinking of getting one.

Joe

4. bass-shy

bass-shy

Jan 11, 2005
    Florida