1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is there ANY good reason for the nut height to be higher than necessary?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Hot Vibrato, Mar 26, 2013.

1. Hot Vibrato

Hot Vibrato

Mar 26, 2013
    Hi All,

Long time lurker, first time poster here. I am a novice when it comes to upright basses, but I've made my living repairing/maintaining/restoring guitars and other fretted instruments for about 18 years.

It seems to be the general consensus that proper nut height should be roughly the thickness of a business card (.010" - .015"). However, I've known some upright bass players who have their nut much higher than that, and when I've asked about it, they say they prefer it that way. This just seems crazy to me! Why?! Is there something I'm missing here?

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I don't have a real answer with any specs/measurements, but when there's *any* sound coming from a nut that's too low, I lose my mind.

3. Hot Vibrato

Hot Vibrato

Mar 26, 2013
    Could you describe the sound that bothers you when the nut is too low?

Although I'm fully aware that an upright is an entirely different beast, the closest frame of reference I have is from working on electric basses. On fretted basses, I like the nut slots to be only slightly higher than they would be if the strings were laying on a fret. On a fretless, I like the slots to be cut so there is only a tiny bit of clearance between the strings and the fingerboard (a business card is generous). In the case of a fretless bass, I typically don't want the open notes to sound much different from fingered notes - should this strategy apply to upright bass as well?