1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is there anything I should know about Sub Vs?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Lord Henry, Apr 30, 2006.

1. So, I've just spent an afternoon in the Bass Centre. I've been working up to buying a new bass for a couple of months and it's time to spend some time trying them out. I had a go on a Warwick $$, which was not bad, but didn't wow me. The Fender Jazz 5s in my price range all felt rather loose and a bit cheap (I'm not having a go at Fender, I'm fully aware that they make great basses, but the MIMs I played today just didn't do it for me). Then I took down a MusicMan Sub V active. It just felt great to play, like it was designed for my hands. The neck was exactlly the right size, the weight was very comfortable, the balance was spot on, and the tone, while not all that varriable, was bang on for the stuff I play. I'm currently checking the back account and moving some money around with the express intention of going back tomorrow to pick one up.

Now, I know that there are better instruments out there, but I have a pretty tight price range. Of what I can afford the Sub V is streets ahead of the rest. So, do any of you know something that I don't? I don't want to be talked out of getting one but I do want to get all of the facts together. Anyone care to chip in?

Cheers

2. bazzanderson

bazzanderson

Oct 7, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I had one for a few months. I couldn't get into to the VERY bright tone of the bass....but that's subjective....you may love it.