1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is there anything to learn from a guitarist?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by cmgkhn, Nov 11, 2018.

1. cmgkhn

cmgkhn

Oct 12, 2018
    Europe
    Hi all!

(Don't mind my catchy title and read along please :D)

I would like to say before anything that I am here to learn.

I have a friend who came up with a deal for me. He wants me to be his personal gym coach and get him to a good shape (that is not my official job but I'm a gym rat and I have been coaching some people with good results). I would help him with nothing in return but he said he would teach me how to be a good bass player.

I am a beginner bass player trying to learn it on my own using books and videos for the last 2 months (There is no one to teach bass in my area for sure). I have fooled with a guitar 5-6 years ago for a couple of weeks and ditched it.

He is mostly rhytm guitar/vocals, sometimes the lead guitar. He has been playing in bands and gigs for a long time so I trust his playing experience. I am not sure if he has ever played bass or been a teacher though.

My question is how can I get the most out of this deal? Of course there are lots of things to learn from other musicians but what would be the specific things to be learned from him?

Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

(Edited to clarify my level)

Last edited: Nov 12, 2018
  2. murmur70

murmur70

May 3, 2017
    Indiana
    It depends on what you already know. Scales and chord structure are important to know as a bass player.

cmgkhn and Killed_by_Death like this.
  3. It will be worth as least as much as you paid for it.

4. Michedelic

Michedelic MId-Century Modern

If the guitarist is a relatively humble person, and you don't know that much about chord chemistry and how song progressions are put together, you might be able to gain some knowledge if the guitarist has it.