1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is there really a big difference between Squire vs Fender

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by aasti3000, Jul 26, 2012.

1. aasti3000

aasti3000

Jul 18, 2012
    I'm new to the bass world and I'm currently searching for my first bass. Within the search I've asked other bassists about Squire's and they seem to say things like "If you want to save money then get a Squire...if you want real good tone then get a fender...better wood." But the Squire's I've tested sounded great...especially the P basses. I have enough saved up for a Fender but...is there really a sound difference between the two? Just seeing if my ears are deceiving me.

2. droppedurpocket

droppedurpocket

Nov 11, 2011
    Plano, TX
    A lot of people really like the squiers. I loved mine when I had it. Honestly, I've never played a fender, never really wanted to, so I can't tell you if one or the other is better. Just play what feels right and get that one.

codycon96 likes this.
  3. Rip Topaz

Rip Topaz

Aug 12, 2005
    Willow Street, PA
    Beta tester for Positive Grid
    Yes, Fender is better than Squier.

However, there ARE some exceptions. Every so often a Squier will just have that something special.

Remember it's just a bass. The biggest drawback to having Squier on the headstock is gonna be other musicians. Gear snobbery will happen with the Squier. Prepare for it.

The Fender will have (most times) a better feeling neck, better fretwork, better electronics and hardware.

If you have enough saved for either, go play some basses!! Only YOU can decide.

4. heinpete

heinpete

Apr 9, 2008
    Hesse, Germany
    ...there were times, when it was the other way round!:bag:

5. bassbully

bassbully Endorsed by The PHALEX CORN BASS..mmm...corn!

Sep 7, 2006
    Blimp City USA