1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is there something odd about this bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by aparker82, Oct 16, 2013.

1. aparker82

aparker82

Sep 19, 2012
    Georgia
    I notice there is no serial number on the headstock, the pole pieces are beveled, and something on the logo seems off?

I'm not an expert on Fender basses, just trying to learn more so I'm an educated buyer when it comes to basses.

I noticed the bridge is after market but that seems fairly common.

Thanks in advance for chiming in so I can learn.

2. Mktrat

Mktrat Seriously, are we not doing phrasing anymore? Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2013
    The Mitten
    It looks fantastic......

(a pic would confirm this of course)

3. aparker82

aparker82

Sep 19, 2012
    Georgia
  4. I think it's odd that the shot of the full bass has no logo on the headstock, while the shot of just the headstock DOES have a logo....

5. I think that's really odd too. I think there may be photos of a few basses involved here.

6. aparker82

aparker82

Sep 19, 2012
    Georgia
    I saw that too but dismissed it as a lighting issue, maybe I shouldn't have dismissed it...

7. Mktrat

Mktrat Seriously, are we not doing phrasing anymore? Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2013
    The Mitten
    I am gonna go with "no".

To many questions, to many iffy pics.

8. Yango

Yango

Apr 14, 2008
    Earth
    No serial number either. The Fenders that I've owned, either had it on the headstock front/back or on the neck plate. Those are not Fender tuners either. It could be a parts bass that someone stuck a Fender logo on. I'd ask the seller some detailed questions before even considering buying it.

Then again, if you can get it for $52.00...

9. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA