Is this a good deal?

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by CS Bass, Dec 21, 2003.

1. CS Bass

CS Bass

Feb 18, 2003
    I was looking at this website:

And I found these bows and prices:
    BV-850-BF French $207.00

BV-950-BF French $339.00

Are these good deals on bows?

How much better is pernambuco wood in the same bow?

2. Given the reputation of Palatino basses, why would you even consider one of their bows?
  3. CS Bass

CS Bass

Feb 18, 2003
    Sorry, I'm very new to bass shopping. I've never even heard of Palatino before. I've been playing for six years in my school orchestra, but have just recently started thinking of better equipment. I'm really just looking for the best bow I can get for 200-400.
  4. Run away from these bows. First of all, don't buy musical instruments (including bows) off the internet unless you're really, really sure of what you're getting. Second; check out this forum and some other stuff on the internet regarding Palatino. Probably a simple google search would turn it up; but basically this stuff is crap.

For those kind of prices you should be able to find something playable, but probably not pernambuco. Pernambuco is almost always going to be much better than brazilwood, if you can afford it, but thats not to say there aren't decent brazilwood bows out there. My advice? Go bow shopping in person with your teacher, take your time, (like months, not days) and wait for the right bow at the right price. ;)
  5. CS Bass

CS Bass

Feb 18, 2003
    See that's the thing. I kind of need the bow before January 17th because I have honors auditions. (I'm in high school) The bow I'm using right now is fiberglas and plastic with synthetic hair. Did I mention it's broken?

I'll take your advice and go to a store. I should get a teacher too. And some strings that aren't 15 years old.
  6. Wyzird05

Dec 1, 2003
    South Bend, IN