1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is this a good first step toward sight-reading?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by SalmonKing, May 17, 2011.

1. SalmonKing

SalmonKing

Apr 28, 2011
    The sight-reading thread on the first page made me decide to start this one. A couple of days before my new bass arrived, I got a couple of basic books on walking bass lines and decided to fill the time by singing or whistling the music I was reading. I can recognize all the intervals within an octave by sound and am slowly gaining the ability to do it by sight as well. Before the bass came, I had already sung or whistled many of the lines; when I started playing, I was able to verify that I had read most of them correctly.

I'm currently working on finger-rolling and have invented a little mental exercise to go along with it. A pair of notes played over a finger roll on adjacent strings is by definition a perfect fourth--for example, you roll from the low G of the E string to the low C of the A string. So I'm practicing finger rolls all over the bass, with all of my fingers, and visualizing the perfect-fourth intervals on the staff at each new location. I feel I'm killing four birds with one stone: I'm learning the finger roll, memorizing the fretboard, solidifying my knowledge of notes in the bass clef, and learning to recognize all perfect fourths on the staff by sight.

It seems to be working well so far. When I pull out a new piece of sheet music and try to hear it in my head, I recognize most of the perfect fourths immediately. Once I have this down cold, I think I'll play, say, perfect fifths and do the same thing.

2. You asked if this is a good first strep. You are way beyond first step - keep going you are doing fine.

3. BassyBill

BassyBill The smooth moderator... Gold Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2005
    West Midlands UK