Is this a natural progression for a bassist?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by syciprider, Jan 1, 2006.

1. syciprider

syciprider Banned

May 27, 2005
    Inland Empire
    I.... am... beginning.... to.... like.... DISCO tunes... :oops: Enjoyable and easy to play. What's not to like?

Get down tonight! :bassist:

Anybody else have their musical pallette expand a bit?
  2. SuperSonic!!!

Oct 26, 2005
    Hell yeah!
    Before I started playing bass, I was only into punk. :eyebrow: I then started getting into music that has good bass parts, and now I listen mostly to jazz/funk. :cool:
  3. Lowtonejoe

Lowtonejoe Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2004
    Richland, WA
    DON'T PANIC!!!!!

Not to worry. You are just coming to know the funk. Funk gets your booty shakin' thus made for really great disco tunes.

Either that or you are turning gay.

Do you like show tunes too?

DISCLAIMER: In case I offended anybody....Oh for Pete's sake, laugh, would you??
  4. syciprider

syciprider Banned

May 27, 2005
    Inland Empire
    I was watching Regis' New Year's Eve show last night and I thoroughly enjoyed .... Duran Duran because Notorious had a nice bass line :oops: .
  5. syciprider

syciprider Banned

May 27, 2005
    Inland Empire
    I'm a sailor. It ain't gay if we're underway ;) It ain't queer if we're on the pier ;)
  6. paintballjunkie

Jul 27, 2005
    hehe. sometimes i'll lock my door, close the blinds, turn the t.v. up loud, put my headphones on and listen to billie jean :D
  7. Bryan R. Tyler

Bryan R. Tyler TalkBass: Usurping My Practice Time Since 2002 Staff Member Administrator Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2002
    The horror movie Prom Night (with Jamie Lee Curtis) has a mostly disco-type soundtrack, but it's hard not to love it because the bassist playing on it is so good.

Whether you liked the pop/R&B/disco/funk music from the 70s or not, it certainly was the age of the bass player.
  8. Snarf

Jan 23, 2005
    New York, NY