1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is this a real 1973 Fender P?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by phxlbrmpf, May 6, 2006.

1. phxlbrmpf

phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    Germany
    Someone linked to this on a German bass forum.
    The seller claims the bass was bought in 1973 and spent 25 years in a case until now, hence the almost complete absence of scratches, dings and blemishes.

http://cgi.ebay.de/Fender-Precision...410604257QQcategoryZ87487QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

I'm not an expert by any stretch but all this looks kinda fishy to me as the seller didn't include a serial number and the back of the neck doesn't seem to have yellowed in the slightest; I mean, if the bass was bought in 1973 and stored away in a case for the last 25 years, it must've been used for at least seven years, right? :eyebrow:

Whaddaya think?

2. tkozal

tkozal

Feb 16, 2006
    New York City

My 73, neck date March 73, has not yellowed significantly, a little, but not as much as others.

To me, the sunburst just isn't right, too distinct, too red, looks like a refin. I think this might have been discussed at length in the fenderforum.com

3. morf

morf Banned

Feb 17, 2006
    That is probably an old vintage neck, you can tell by the way Precision Bass is written in a curved fashion I think.

Here's a 57 vintage P (with upgraded pickups) if you'd like to compare:

[​IMG]

4. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    No.

73 would have a tortoise pickguard and that burst looks kind of trashy for 73. It looks like a real 70's fender, but I'm thinking 75-77 range?

Of course, IMO...but I do own a burst 73 P.

Here's mine to compare:

[​IMG]

5. phxlbrmpf

phxlbrmpf

Dec 27, 2002
    Germany