1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is this a real fender?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Sadie Brulivan, Jan 1, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Sadie Brulivan

Sadie Brulivan

Jan 1, 2020
    Gifted to me, don’t know anything about bass guitars upload_2020-1-1_19-48-3.png upload_2020-1-1_19-48-18.png upload_2020-1-1_19-48-18.png upload_2020-1-1_19-48-30.png upload_2020-1-1_19-48-57.png upload_2020-1-1_19-48-3.png

MynameisMe likes this.
  2. scottfeldstein

scottfeldstein Roots and fifths and a little extra. Supporting Member

Jun 20, 2011
    West Bend, Wisconsin
    I'm not an expert on Fender Jazz bases, but this looks legit to me. Someone here can probably give you an idea of the vintage by the placement of the serial number on the neck plate. And the "contour body" line on the headstock. I'm guessing it's 70s.

Last edited: Jan 1, 2020
    Joesmintballs and Reedt2000 like this.
  3. Bassmike62

Bassmike62 Punch'n Ooomph provider

Not an expert either, but I've never seen "jazz bass" written that way before. The rest does look legit though. Is it a pic angles thing or is that neck a little off (4th pic) ?

4. king_biscuit

king_biscuit Supporting Member

May 21, 2006
    US
    "F" plate, and neck are not Fender. Not sure about the body.

5. Hiya,
    The only way to really tell is to pull the neck and hope a date stamp is there and "licensed by Fender" stamp isn't.

It looks like a '70's "bullet" neck but the head stock decal doesn't look quite right for a '70's era instrument, I thought they dropped the "des" in the late '60's, like 68 or so. Also, the font in the waterslide is off to me but I don't have a bullet era bass to compare it to.

Cycleops and Kro like this.
  6. king_biscuit

king_biscuit Supporting Member

May 21, 2006
    US

Also, the "skunk stripe" looks too wide to be a Fender.

Jazzish likes this.
  7. mmbongo