... Is this a stupid question ... ?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Godcreep, Nov 4, 2001.

1. Hi guys ...

I'm playing for about only 2 years now (and I think I really suck, but that's another thing) , and today I played along with a cd. Now, I had to drop my strings to C F A# D# .. Is this used often with bass playin' ? I ALWAYS played E A D G
    and it felt really strange ... off course I had a very deep sound ... but my C string rattles sometimes... (finger style) and it just didn't felt natural ...
    Is a 4 string not suited for playin' C F A#D# ?
    This may sound as a very stupid question...but hey, I'm still a beginner ...
    Thanx for your replies ........
  2. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    probably was something that was played on a 5 string.

you can tune your bass that way if you want, just get heavier gauge strings (thicker), that should work fine.
  3. ..... Well, is there anything like an OCTAVER pedal,
    or something ? Who has used something like that before ? Isn't that the best solution ??
  4. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Well I think that the best solution is to get a 5-string bass and not tune down at all.

Seriously though I can never see the point of tuning down - as you say it just means that you get rattles and buzzes and the lower strings get harder to play. There are always alternative ways to play things and if you take a 24 fret 5 strings - that's 120 possible notes - more than a piano. Somewhere in all that is more than enough to play and excellent bassline. I think people get too hung up on playing exactly what was on the original - if people want that, they can buy the record! ;)
  5. It could be tuned drop D and then down a step.

Could be octaver.

Could be a five (or +) string.