1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is this a suitable starter bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by Fishbrain, Apr 10, 2010.

1. Fishbrain

Fishbrain

Dec 8, 2000
    England, Liverpool
    Endorsing Artist: Warwick Bass and Amp
    Hi there I've been playing electric bass for 10 years and want to move into upright bass as well.

I've decided to go acoustic over electric (which I was toying with for a while...) and I don't have a very big budget. Probably less than £500.

As far as I'm aware there aren't any shops stocking upright basses by me so don't really have a chance to try out any basses but I have found this bass/case/bow deal on the internet and was wondering if anybody could tell me if it's worth getting this one or hanging on for something else?

http://www.gear4music.com/Woodwind-Brass-Strings/3-4-Jazz-Size-Double-Bass-and-Case/1O1

Thanks!

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    Welcome to the dark side. It's worth reading the newbie links, as they contain a lot of useful information. There have also been a few recent threads on the subject of super-inexpensive basses. Naturally, these threads can get a bit acrimonious, because some are saying that these basses aren't worth buying, while others have bought them and are happy. It may be that both "sides" are right, but it makes for a delicate discussion at best.

Anyhow, there's a lot of information there, all worth reading. Best of luck!

3. Harry Grossman

Harry Grossman

Apr 9, 2010
    VA
    well first....r u sure u dont need a full size? and yes, it does look good other than that. best of luck!

4. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg Supporting Member

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago
    Please read the noobie links - this type of question has been answered way too many times.