Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is This A Typo? (Notation Question)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by stephanie, Nov 27, 2002.

1. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    I'm looking over this exercise I got at my lesson yesterday. There's a few double sharp markings towards the end of the exercise. But then I come across a few notes that I was wondering if there's a typo on the page or if it's something else: The song is in the Key of B Major and I've come across, say, an A# marking A is already sharp in the key and the marking isn't a double sharp marking, so do you think this is a typo?

While on the subject of this exercise...it's in 3/8 time. I've never played an a piece in this time so I'm a little new with it. I know that there's 3 beats in the measure and the 8th note gets the beat. At the end there are 2 measures that go: Dotted 8th connected to a 32d note and 4 connected 32nd notes. I am assuming the 4 32nd notes are the equivalent of 4 16th notes in this time. But I am lost on the dotted 8th and 32nd notes.

Thanks,
    Stephanie

2. Nick Gann

Nick Gann Talkbass' Tubist in Residence

Mar 24, 2002
    Silver Spring, MD
    A lot of times, the composer/writer will add in accidentals that are the same as the key signature to remind you of the key signature.

If the # marking is in a measure where an A has already been given flat or natural accidental, then there needs to be a # accidental to change it back (unless you are in the next measure. When going into a different measure, all accidentals are canceled from the previous measure).

Sometimes, it is just used as a reminder.

3. moley

moley

Sep 5, 2002
    Hampshire, UK