1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is this bad?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by stepswork4me, Apr 25, 2010.

1. I've never damaged a bass doing this.

25 vote(s)
    69.4%
  2. I've hurt my baby and I'll never do it again.

1 vote(s)
    2.8%
  3. I have never and would never treat her so roughly.

10 vote(s)
    27.8%
  1. Let me start by saying that this was nothing I was taught to do; I could not afford lessons as a kid...

When I string my basses, I always start with the center string (5'er A string). I next string the D, the E, the G, and finally the B. After stringing it, I place the palm of my hand under the strings and lift on them fairly hard. I do this to stretch them fully so they stay in tune. I've been doing this for 19 years or so and haven't had any problems. It just occurred to me that I could possibly do some damage to my bass. Any experience to share?

2. ehque

ehque

Jan 8, 2006
    Singapore
    I don't stretch my strings. It causes your strings to die faster for little benefit.

On the other hand i don't think you are damaging your bass.

3. I've always gotten quite a bit of bright life out of my good ol' DR highbeams. I just figured that they stretch anyway, hence the tuning issue with new strings. After stretching, they would stay in tune forever.

4. Labi

Labi

Jun 14, 2006
    Stretching the strings is essential for me. Though I stretch them one by one not all at once. I seriously doubt it that this shortens their life.

5. thwump64

thwump64

Feb 2, 2010
    Oshawa, ON
    That's pretty much how I've been doing it.

6. Its what I was taught to do. String 'em up, firmly stretch each one, retune, maybe even stretch again. Bass always stays in tune.

7. donut

donut

Jan 27, 2004
    UK