Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is this legit?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by superfly, Aug 17, 2004.

1. superfly

superfly

Aug 4, 2004
    Is this a real USA P bass?

I'm new to this, but I noticed :No string through body, and the truss rod adjustment is on the headstock , just like my MIM P bass.
    This seller is about 30 mins away from me. If I go look at it, what should I look for to authenticate its a MIA ?
    USA P bass?

2. Dan Molina

Dan Molina TalkBass Secular Progressive

Jul 17, 2002
    Murr Town, California
    I'd be skeptical, but thats ust me.

3. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

Hmmm, no serial number visable?! That would be the first thing I'd check. Secondly, it would be the bridge. If it ain't string through, tell homeboy he got taken if he thinks it's an American P!!

4. NINO3000

NINO3000

Feb 10, 2004
    Mount Vernon NY

Get the serial number and verify all the details with Fender. You can call them and find out. But I wouldnt do it based on what you already idenitfied.

5. Dan Molina

Jul 17, 2002
    Murr Town, California
    and warn the guys who try to buy the bass.

6. bassmonkeee

bassmonkeee Supporting Member

Sep 13, 2000
    Decatur, GA
    Looks like a Highway 1 to me....

http://www.fender.com/products/show.php?partno=0111300

Same headstock trussrod adjustment.

Same NON-THRU-BODY bridge.

Same satin blonde finish.

So, basically, it's exactly what the guy says it is. A US made Fender.

The only ridiculous thing is the $75 shipping. But, if you can pick it up in person, that's not exactly a problem, is it?

7. Dan Molina

Jul 17, 2002
    Murr Town, California
    He should have said so, instead of trying to rip people off.

8. patrickj

patrickj

Aug 13, 2001
    Baltimore, MD