Is this legit?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 4string4ever, Sep 25, 2004.

1. 4string4ever

4string4ever Guest

Apr 18, 2004
    Orlando, Florida
  2. sargebaker

sargebaker Commercial User

May 2, 2004
    Montreal QC CA
    owner/builder, ISLAND Instrument Mfg.
    I'm no pro, but if you look at the super closeup of that shot on the bay it looks a little oddish.... but take that with a grain of salt...or even less!
  3. 4string4ever

4string4ever Guest

Apr 18, 2004
    Orlando, Florida
    No, not buying. Just bought a '03 pbass to keep my Ric company. Yeah, the closeup on Ebay looks fishy.......
  4. Brat

Jun 4, 2004
    NW Indiana.
    The 76 looks odd to me but the rest of it looks okay.
  5. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Zero feedback seller? No thanks!
  6. 4string4ever

4string4ever Guest

Apr 18, 2004
    Orlando, Florida
    Yeah, it should be S6 instead of 76.
  7. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    Looks legit to me. 4string4ever, I believe there was no S6, they started that scheme in 1977. The 76 was commonly larger than the rest, I remember this same exact scenario came up on the Dudepit a couple months ago. We decided it was legit.

But don't quote me, and don't buy it based on what I said.
  8. josh_m

May 5, 2004
    Davie, Fl
    S6 and 76 are both acceptable. S is the prefix for the 70s.
  9. Vic

Vic There's more music in the nuance than the notes. Gold Supporting Member

Oct 14, 2002
    Central Illinois
    Staff, Bass Gear Magazine
    Ok, according to This link, "76" or "S6" are cool, per the post above, but the pic looks hacked to me. The 76 looks way different than the rest... especially with a 0 feedback seller. IMHO.
  10. 4string4ever

4string4ever Guest

Apr 18, 2004
    Orlando, Florida
    I stand corrected, but I agree that the pic still looks hacked. By the way, was there also visible the dark wood at the base of the headstock in '76?
  11. FireAarro