Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

is this normal?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by The Alexander, Jan 2, 2005.

1. Hey people,
    I am a rookie bassist and just found this board a little while ago. This has probably been beat to death already, but is it okay if I only play with one finger? I started out trying to play with two, but I subconsiously (spelling??) started playing with one. Should I try to get back to playing with two, or is one okay? Please :help: me.

2. Well if it suits your needs there is no problem but if you ever want to play a fast basline keep in mind that you'll never be fast enough with one finger.

3. Weasel

Weasel

Feb 18, 2003
    Tampere, Finland
    Hey, James Jamerson played with one finger!

4. Figjam

Figjam

Aug 5, 2003
    Boston, MA
    +1.

Its always diffucult at first to use 2 fingers. Try to do 2, you'll wish you'd learned how to use 2 later. If it was okay to use 1, do you think 99% of bassists would use 2?

5. JimK

JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Hell, for about a year, I used one(1) finger on my FRETTING hand.

G3-
    Unless you're a complete natural that is gifted, learning to play an instrument will challenge you to learn new things. I know(& remember) that playing with one finger is easy & seems the way to go when you're early in your developement. I still recall practicing in the shed with 2 fingers...but come gig-time, I gravitated back to 1 finger because it's what was 'more comfortable' (at the time).
    Take your time & do it 'right' early on; it's a pain to go back & re-learn stuff once one gets really settled in.

6. RudeMood

RudeMood

Nov 7, 2004
    Austin, TX
    My opinion is to use two fingers. As you learn more about the instrument, you'll find that in general, you can do more with two on the faster baselines.

7. Joe P

Joe P

Jul 15, 2004
    Milwaukee, WI
    Ahhh-eeee! Now THAT'S the hard-way!

Joe