1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is this normal...

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by scizro, Oct 8, 2009.

1. scizro

scizro

Oct 8, 2009
    I've purchased a new Amer Fender Jazz and noticed the strings don't line up perfectly under the pickups (notably on the E and G). Is this normal? Most of the press photos on their website show them aligning a bit more symmetrically.

Am I just being pedantic?

Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. Zombbg4

Zombbg4

Jul 15, 2008
    Olympia,Wa
    Hmm, that's strange. Does it sound ok? Is string to string balance good?

3. scizro

scizro

Oct 8, 2009
    As far as I can tell....haven't checked it with anything too precise though...

I was concerned mostly about the look of if but yeah if this isn't normal..should I return it?

Or is it simply an easy adjustment...

Apologies as I'm a new bassist.

Cheers.

4. 202dy

202dy Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2006
    Pretty normal.

With regards to function, pretty meaningless.

Enjoy your new guitar.

5. mongo2

mongo2

Feb 17, 2008
    Da Shaw
    Yes, it's normal.

No, it doesn't effect anything due to the way the mag field is distributed in teh area of the strings with that polepiece configuration.

6. sevenyearsdown

sevenyearsdown Supporting Member

Jan 29, 2008
    Sanborn, NY
    Normal - but if it really bothers you, the saddles should have a series of slots that will allow you to bumb the string over a notch to compensate. Just keep in mind that it will affect your string spacing a little (some people will notice, others maybe not).

And nice bass ya got there.

7. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    It's normal. Enjoy your bass and don't worry about it. +5 bonus points for using the word "pedantic".

8. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User