1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is this Ricenbacker 5-string legit? It's listed on Ebay.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Gibenbackerbass, Apr 18, 2010.

1. Thornton Davis

Thornton Davis

Dec 11, 1999
    Toronto
    Looks identical to my old 1999 4003S5. It's definately legit.

TD

2. CapnSev

CapnSev

Aug 19, 2006
    Coeur d'Alene
    I like how it's referred to as "Ricenbacker" in the thread title as it may be appropriate. :p

3. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I Grow Organic Carrots
  4. M0ses

M0ses

Sep 11, 2009
    Los Angeles
    I'm no expert, but I'm not convinced.

5. Did RICKENBACKER even make a 5 string in '82?

6. Ric5

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I Grow Organic Carrots
    The headstock is different than any 4003s5 I have ever seen.
    !Bq6OSUg!mk~$(KGrHqEOKkMEuZNDw-FnBL)cz4I8(g~~_3.

The tailpiece looks correct but the mute and bridge don't look right.
    !BrHdhYQCGk~$(KGrHqMOKicEu(95St1bBLyUzqzoMw~~_3.

I have never seen a 4003s5 with binding on the neck, and the body is not quite shaped correct for a 4003s.
    !BrHdgmQCGk~$(KGrHqUOKjUEu,)ERutIBLyUzjC2wg~~_3.

The jack plate looks like a Ric plate.
    !BrHdf8gBWk~$(KGrHqEOKkUEuZvVe,q6BLyUzbq2!w~~_3.

7. M0ses

M0ses

Sep 11, 2009
    Los Angeles
    Funny how the K has a notch out of the back of it, so it looks like an X. At first I thought it said "Ricx-o-sound".

8. Ric5

Jan 29, 2008
    Colorado
    I Grow Organic Carrots
    Good question. I thought they started about 85 or 86.

9. KramerBassFan

KramerBassFan

Jan 3, 2009
    There weren't many NON Boutique 5 strings in 1982.... And i'm pretty sure Ric's weren't out yet. (5 strings that is)

10. ajish4

ajish4

Dec 19, 2003
    Stuart, FL
  11. I don't know a lot about Rics, but that just looks fishy to me.