Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Is this used amp/cab a good deal?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JoelT, Aug 7, 2000.

1. JoelT

JoelT

Aug 7, 2000
    Hi,

I started playing a few months ago and I'm currently using my old Fender guitar amp. I have an opportunity to buy a used Carvin Pro Bass 500 amp and 2x10 cabinet for $300 (I don't know the details of the cab). The only problem is that the high-end amp in the Pro Bass 500 occasionally cuts out (I've been told this by the person selling it, I won't get a chance to play it until tomorrow).

The seller didn't realize the amp had the problem until he was ready to let me try it out, so he's been trying to figure out what's wrong, but hasn't been able to. He said he was going to try switching cables, but I don't know what else he's tried. He did say that the more he plays through the amp, the less it seems to cut out. He also said someone told him that after electronics equipment goes a while without being used it might need some burn-in time to come back to normal functionality. If this is true, it could explain why it's getting better.

I'm just wondering if this is still a good deal. For now I'd just use it for practicing, so I won't need to worry about it dying on a gig anytime soon, but I don't want to buy something that might be useless in two months. He might come down a little on the price because of the problem (but it seems to be a really good deal already, so I don't know how much he'll lower the price).

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Joel

2. Slater

Slater Bye Millen! Hello?

Apr 17, 2000
    The Great Lakes State