Is tube sound louder, watt for watt?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by OldJackBloom, May 18, 2001.

1. OldJackBloom

May 12, 2001
    Reno, NV
    I have heard that tube sound is louder, watt for watt, "to the human ear". Is this true. And if so, how much louder?
  2. This has been argued time and time again.....

I play through a tube amp, but I used to use solid state....

I will not say that the tube has more power or is louder, but the tube amp does seem to be louder, because when pushed to it's limits, the tubes start to distort, but the s-s would probably cut out or start clipping.....

That is just my $.02....
  3. captainpabst

Mar 18, 2001
    i believe tubes can play louder without clipping- basically louder without sounding like crap. so yeah, watt for watt, tubes are more or less louder. at least that's the way it is with home audio. i haven't A/B's enuf tube amps with solid state to say for sure about bass equipment.
  4. I'm no expert, but in short:

Tube amps distort with even-order harmonics, which are "pleasant" to the ear. Therefore we detect an apparent increase in volume without the distortion present being as noticable.

Solid-state amps distort with odd-order harmonics, which sound nasty. Ever heard an SS amp clip? Ouch! So by the time we get an equivalent volume, the distortion makes it too unpleasant.

So, same volume, different sound. :)
  5. Agreed, for sure...I was just offering a simple layman's definition to save searching the forums... ;)
  6. Old Blue

Old Blue

Mar 18, 2000