1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is using tabs for noobs?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ilovemysr505, Oct 10, 2009.

1. ilovemysr505

ilovemysr505

Sep 30, 2009
    I'm using tabs and guitar pro of the song is really complicated.
    Does using tabs make my musical consciousness lesser?

2. I grew up using notation; I use tabs, too. I also draw my own tabs and notation if necessary.

3. Revvv

Revvv

Oct 31, 2007
    Georgia
    I've been playing for 20 years, and I still use tabs from time to time.

4. IdealWay

IdealWay

Oct 18, 2006
    Asheville, NC
    Yes. Standard notation is a perfect universal system already, do yourself a favor and start learning it.

5. MStrianese

MStrianese

Jul 26, 2008
    New York
    Use what you like and are comfortable with, similarly to the question "Pick or Fingers?", use what you are comfortable with, just think outside the box sometimes, say you use tabs to learn a song, learn the next one by ear etc., its never good to handicap yourself in one area...

6. From Victor Wooten's website...