1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Is Venmo like Gift

Discussion in 'Classifieds Usage Discussion and Help' started by Burwabit, Sep 4, 2018.

1. Burwabit

Burwabit Likes guitars that tune good and firm feelin women Supporting Member

Apr 4, 2011
    Lubbock, TX
    I’ve been seeing a lot of ads asking for Venmo payment. Isn’t this basically like asking for PayPal friends and family aka gift, offering no buyer protection? If so should it be banned as such?

Disclaimer... I have limited Venmo experience and may not be aware of it's full capabilities. Please correct me.

2. Fred312b

Fred312b Proof that gear doesn't make you a better player Supporting Member

Apr 23, 2002
    Chicago, IL
    Venmo is a Paypal product, but it is fee free. However, it isn't guaranteed (ie: I send you a Venmo for $100, you transfer it to your bank account and in a few days find out I didn't have the funds). There aren't any sales protections or anything either.

Sellers can ask for fee free payments (like a postal money order, certified check, etc.), I believe the reason we're not allowed to use the Paypal one is it is intended for friends and family and not for business transactions.

From the FAQ's
    • No surcharges on an item are allowed, this includes the 3% for Paypal. That fee is the seller's responsibility, not the buyer. Paypal's usage agreement specifically prohibits this.
    • Do not request a payment be sent through Paypal as a personal payment or gift. This leaves the buyer with no recourse should there be a problem - Paypal does not allow for contesting gift transactions. This is also against the Paypal usage agreement, and can result in action taken against both the buyer's and the seller's accounts.

3. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA