1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ischell Contact Microphone

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Eric Hochberg, Dec 31, 2015.

1. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago
    Fischer Ischell sent me this pickup to audition and it will make the rounds of a few Talkbass contributors who have agreed to check it out over the next month or two. Fischer asked that the pickup be returned after 5 auditions to insure it is still working as intended.

I'll leave a few impressions now, and some in a couple more days as I have more experience working with the pickup. Might be worth mentioning that I have no experience using other body mounted pickups such as the Schertler Dyn-B and Ehrlund, but a couple of the testers do, so it will be interesting to hear their thoughts.

It does take a little time to find the optimal location on the top of the bass. When working with it at home on my "A" bass, position #1 as in the brochure, under the treble bridge foot, seemed to be the best, although I didn't take the time to change positions more than 5 or 6 times, so it's possible there is a better position somewhere on the top.

In this position, I got a pretty even pizz sound across strings, although the E was a bit weaker in volume. The sound has a different character to the sound of the bridge type pickups I've always used, and I would have to say, it is less electronic, "pickup-y" sounding, and more faithful to the acoustic character of the instrument. The arco response is excellent, without the harshness of most piezo bridge pickups I've used. Very natural sounding. I kind of summed up this first session with it thinking that "I could use this pickup".

I'll stop here until I've worked with it some more in a gigging situation.