1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  
  2. Welcome Back!  Please see this thread for more info about the site outage.  Thank you for your patience as we work out bugs and tweak server configs.

Issues with Bass Guitar Strings

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by VladB, Sep 28, 2017.

1. VladB

VladB

Sep 23, 2017
    Hi there guys, I'm new here.
    This is my dilemma; I have 4 Bass Guitars which 2 of them have 45 to 105 strings, and the other 2 have 55 to 110. Well I tried to tune all 4 to C# and that is no happening, the strings are just hanging there; not to mention that I tried to tune all 4 to D# A# F A#, I can literally take the string out of the peg with no resistance at all.
    Any help or suggestions will be appreciated.
    P.S. 1 of the 4 Bass Guitars is a Multi Scale Bass.

Thank you

Vlad

2. I have no experience with multi scales so I cannot help you with that one.
    As for the others I am assuming that they are all 4 strings of some sort. So...... If you are wanting to drop down to C# the .105 sets are probably just not high tension-ed enough are therefore floppy. The .55-.110 should do the trick, if you have the right set. For what you are wanting to do I would suggest the .110-.55 set that GHS makes. I have dropped down to D standard (DGCF) with out any flopiness whatsoever. I'd imagine you could go even lower since they are very stiff in feel.
    If it still won't workout then I would suggest that you get a 5 string set and just tune BEAD and soldier on.

wintremute and VladB like this.
  3. VladB

VladB

Sep 23, 2017

Thank you for the info

4. mikewalker

mikewalker Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2017
    Canada, Eh!