It’s alive! My handbuilt “Remnants” accused-stic upright bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner [DB]' started by Hogslapper, Nov 12, 2021.

1. Hogslapper

Hogslapper

Apr 16, 2020
    Mid Missouri
    My everyday, real, paying, construction job requires weekly road trips and motel stays. I wanted a smaller bodied, acoustic travel tool, something I could tuck under one arm. Yet everything needs to be of 3/4 scale as I’m still new to the upright, still working on the intonation, muscle memory thing.
    Strings hung yesterday, most parts still in the “white”, I present my creation for your scrutiny and reading pleasure.
    EF517A86-923E-4A0C-9665-EE6D56F13A80.jpeg

2. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    Cool! :)

3. Hogslapper

Hogslapper

Apr 16, 2020
    Mid Missouri
    I started it last summer with an idea to use up leftover pieces of wood from previous projects. I had some black walnut, cherry, rock maple, and Osage Orange. My son-in-law was rebuilding a deck, so there was some 50 year old redwood to be repurposed.
    Some measuring and ciphering convinced me there was just enough to do the neck , fingerboard, and the belly and back.
    I hadn’t bent any wood before and some reading revealed the usefulness of American sycamore in this regard. It was always considered as a utility wood when I grew up . I scrounged around and found some quartersawn pieces, discovering an attractive grain.
    Here, 5 woods converge
    F9275C2D-500F-4742-A159-BF937AAA5CDD.jpeg

Crispus, MattZilla, MonetBass and 6 others like this.
  4. stefaniw80401

stefaniw80401 Supporting Member

May 18, 2004
    Evergreen, Colorado
    Love it! Can you post a sound/vid sample?

5. dhergert

dhergert Gold Supporting Member

Jan 17, 2018
    Blue Zone, California
  6. mikeGJ

mikeGJ Supporting Member

Jun 7, 2007
    Grand Junction, CO
    OP is a BG player, who says he also owns and plays upright.