It finally clicked!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Eddie Jones, Jun 6, 2021.

1. Eddie Jones

Eddie Jones

Sep 18, 2019
    Sylacauga AL
    I have been toiling away for several years trying to learn guitar. Had to quit in 2017 due to some personal tragedy and had to sell all my equipment. I never really got guitar. Fast forward to present and I recently (last week) got me a bass. Watched a few vids about chord tones, scales and plucking techniques. All of a sudden, I got it! I understand the fretboard and how it's laid out. I understand the role of the bass in a musical setting. I understand how bass chord tones are the foundation of most music. And most surprisingly, my fingers worked the way they should. Floating thumb technique came naturally. This is the instrument I should have been playing all along. I am so stoked it finally clicked. I love this damned thing. It is so powerful when needed but can also evoke emotion when played with a light touch. I may end up being the first fat, bald bass player to play at Coachella (just kidding). And I have been reading posts and watching vids that you guys have posted. A whole world of musical possibilities has opened up. BTW, aside from normal bass heroes like Jaco, Geddy and Claypool, my new bass hero is the guy from Riverside...(sorry don't know his name)

2. James Collins

James Collins

Mar 25, 2017
    Augusta, GA
    welcome to the deep end.

_Obra_ likes this.
  3. Eddie Jones

Eddie Jones

Sep 18, 2019
    Sylacauga AL
    Thanks. I should have been here all along

4. This is exactly how I felt when it finally clicked for me at the age 52 after a 20-yr musical hiatus, having given up being a singer/guitarist at the age of 32!

5. Eddie Jones

Eddie Jones

Sep 18, 2019
    Sylacauga AL