1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

It's About Time: My Very First Bass (a VI) and I am Struggling

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by Artwerk Orange, Feb 2, 2020.

1. Artwerk Orange

Artwerk Orange

Feb 2, 2020
    I am fairly new to guitar, but have already begun an obsessive and unquenchable desire to play, own, mod/customize, build I received my first bass in December -- a brand new Squire Bass VI. The build quality is much better than I expected, but the instrument has several issues that I need to address and I am in need of some wisdom and guidance before I can enjoy my latest acquisition. First and foremost... the infamous floppy E string should be my first step. After scouring the Internet, I decided to start by replacing the low E with a 100 gauge string. I actually tried a larger string first and it could not even fit through the bridge. So before I make matters worse, I humbly ask for your help. Will the 100 work with the existing hardware? I know I may need to modify the nut, but what about the stock tuners? Will they work with the new string size? When restringing with this gauge are there any other tips I should be aware of? Any other advice regarding set-up will be greatly appreciated. I look forward to future bass playing and I cannot thank you enough for any assistance you can provide.
    Craig

2. Malcolm35

Malcolm35

Aug 7, 2018
    Learn how to play what you have first. Don't muck up what is probably a very good bass.

3. Artwerk Orange

Artwerk Orange

Feb 2, 2020