Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I've been busy!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by embellisher, Aug 17, 2003.

1. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

I am proud of myself, and I would like to thank all of the great people in the Setup forum for all of the great advice.

I had two basses with problems, so I worked on them today. I used Setup as a resource, and despite the fact that I have never done this kind of work before, both 'tuneup' projects went great.:)[​IMG]

I will tell about each of the basses and the work I did on them in the next two posts.

2. Yeah please post up. We get so many users post up with "i cant do this!" type thing. Its good to see/hear people are doing this for themselves.

Setup is a invaluable resource.

:D:D

Merls

3. embellisher

My Hamer 12 string is a great sounding bass, but it had several problems.

First, the blend pot was very loose. I had tried tightening it in the past, but didn't have much luck.

So I removed the preamp from the bass to make room in the cavity(luckily the preamp was wired up with a plug in harness. wish everybody did that!) and unbundled the wires so that I could get at the pot. Then I removed the knob from the top of the pot and removed the nut and washer that held it to the top.

When I pulled the pot out, it became apparent that the wood around the hole on the inside of the control cavity was unevenly routed. I replaced the washer on the inside of the cavity with a larger diameter one so that it would 'bite' more surface area inside the cavity. I didn't want to try to build up the area, because it is well shielded with paint, and I don't think that wood filler will stick to shielding paint.