1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I've been stupid and now it's all a mess!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Kaddock, Feb 17, 2008.

1. Kaddock

Kaddock

Feb 17, 2008
    I'm very new at playing the bass... And as in all love affairs, I've jumped in over my head! I had a major strip out with my strap locks... fixed with matches and glue! Check. Messed up beautiful bass with super glue! Check. Lol, I can fix that, but now I've gone and changed my strings to some Ernie Ball ones, and while they sound better than the others, now the sound in general is messed... I get insane amount of vibration on the frets (what do you call that?), I cut my largest string too short, and now can only drop to about D safely... And now I have been trying to fix it all and messed up the intonation... AAAAHHHH! Is there a simple guide to not being an idiot on this stuff, or would it be best to take it to the shop? Advice is much appreciated, as this is making me quite sad! I will be going in to the local shop tomorrow to ask the fellow there, and get rates for help, but I have a feeling it could be spendy, so if I can do it myself I will! Thanks :crying:

2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Retired Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego