Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I've got a new Yamaha Attitude bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MatW, Apr 15, 2003.

1. MatW

MatW

May 10, 2000
    UK, Swindon
    Hi everyone,

I thought you might be interested to know that I picked up a brand new Yamaha Attitude 10th Anniversary bass.

I wasn't really in the market for one but I stumbled on an auction on ebay.com and the price seemed to good to be true. I previously owned one of the original basses years ago, so there was a certain amount of nostalgia involved, but I'm very happy. I've been playing Jazz basses for the last five years and this thing is the total antithesis of that. It's chunky, built like a tank with a huge neck and a powerful deep bass tone. It'll be interesting to see if the sound can cut through in a live situation?

This is the first 'P' style bass I've had in years so I've got a bit of adjusting to do. For example, I usually pluck hard over the bridge pickup on my Jazz, so when I pluck over the 'P' pickup the string feels a lot looser so I've to soften up my touch.

Anyway, onto the pics!

2. MatW

MatW

May 10, 2000
    UK, Swindon
    front

3. MatW

MatW

May 10, 2000
    UK, Swindon
    back..

4. MatW

MatW

May 10, 2000
    UK, Swindon
    headstock..

5. MatW

MatW

May 10, 2000
    UK, Swindon
    fingerboard..

6. Nice bass.. I like the Attitude.. It's the Only P type of bass I would like to own.

7. ldiezman

ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    Nashville
    cool bass man. Billy would be proud of you :D

8. CaracasBass

CaracasBass

Jun 16, 2001
    Madrid, Spain
    It´s.......purple!!!!!!!!???????

Despite the color, how does it sounds??

9. A friend of mine painted his kid's room that colour - it was called "Plum Crazy"!

:cool:

Cool bass - is the fretboard really scalloped?

Or are those just position markers to remind us regular folks that we aren't Billy Sheehan?!! ;)