Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I've got a student!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by ChaosGwar, Oct 9, 2002.

1. :eek:

I've got my first official student who is serious about playing bass! He knows absolutely nothing about bass, or music in general. What would be the best way to go about teaching him the basics?

I started him out with bass nomenclature, so he knows what does what and why. I also have him memorizing the notes on the fretboard. I've taught him the musical alphabet and what not. I don't want to throw too much at him too fast, so at his request i'm taking him through it all kinda slow.

What would be a good curiculum for an absolute newbie?

2. Hategear

Hategear Workin' hard at hardly workin'.

Apr 6, 2001
    Appleton, Swissconsin
    "Immortal Corruptor"?

:D

I started to teach a dude once -- notes on the fretboard, parts of a bass, a couple of basic scale patterns. Then I showed him a few easy lines and riffs (he asked me to show him how to play two or three specific songs). The last lesson I taught him was to clip his nails if he thought he was gonna get serious about playing bass (they were about 1/4" long).

He sold his bass a few months later, now he plays guitar!

3. LOL, I'm actually thinking about "Sick of You" for his first song. Either that or Type O's "Black #1"

I figure if he gives up, I'll just buy back all the stuff he's getting. He's buying my old practice amp off me, and I'm pointing him in the way of Essex BG-80 for his first bass. If he doesn't like bass, I'll buy the bass and amp back from him... at used prices of course. :p

4. Thanks for the link Jazzbo. I've got my work cut out for me. Half the stuff you mentioned in that link I have limited knowledge of at best. I knew it at one point, but it's been a while since I actually used it myself. Looks like its time to brush up some old knowledge huh?