I've got double jointed fingers

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Guss, Jan 4, 2003.

1. Up until when I started playing bass, I always thought my double jointed fingers were cool. I can bend them into unbelievable positions that are really fun to show people.
    But because they are unstable, it can sometimes hurt my playing. I'm talking about my pinky. It just hangs down there, all curled up in its own little world. I have to pop it up ahead of time if I want to use it.
    The other fingers are kinda cool though. When I bar an entire fret, I can lift part of the finger up, while keeping the other parts down. You can do some cool stuff.:)
    Anyway, is their any thing to help out with the fingers, like a device or some creative thing somebody has thought of?
  2. Link

Jul 6, 2002
    Latrobe, PA
    don't know if this'll work... but it's worth a shot i suppose-- my fingers are similiar (although im not sure to the same extent)- I used to do this with a few fingers when playing double bass... haven't done it much with BG though... take medical tape and *loosely* tape your finger(s) [individually, ofcourse :eek: ] ... enough so you can still bend it a little- *don't do this all the time though... works better when your fingers are tired/sore... or occ. when you're practicing to sort of "remind" yourself
    --i've found this works well for when you break a finger or mess up a joint and still want/need to play...
    --like i said, don't know if it'll really work for you, but, eh, it's an idea...

edit(s): "opps"
  3. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    Screw help! I want to see pictures!