1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I've never blown a speaker before...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mikeswals, Oct 11, 2010.

1. mikeswals

mikeswals Supporting Member

Nov 18, 2002
    Seattle / Tacoma
    Until two weeks ago. And I didn't even know it either! :confused:
    We played a big show opening for a national act. Their touring stage seemed plenty loud with moitors and side-fills that it didn't seem like I needed to run much volume any differently than before. But when we loaded our gear back in the practice studio the next day, I saw my 22 year old Mesa cab had a slightly demolished EV15. :meh:
    Luckily I have a spare EV stashed in the attic, and put the cab back together today. But I hope the old one can be fixed.

DSC06740.gif

2. mrkreuzschlitz

mrkreuzschlitz

Jun 30, 2008
    Dacula, GA
    I'm no expert, but it looks like the cone itself ripped and maybe the coil isn't bad. Go get it reconed and keep it as your new backup!

Any chance it blew to phasing?

3. mikeswals

Nov 18, 2002
    Seattle / Tacoma
    I checked the phasing between all drivers in that cab, and well as my 2nd cab I run it with, and all are proper.
    Yeah the center completely tore from the cone, and luckily there's no scraping in the coil either, so it's still good. Now gotta find a good repair tech.

4. gumtown

gumtown

May 7, 2007
    New Zealand
    22 years for a bass driver is pretty good, if you got 10 years from a paper cone it's doing well too.
    A recone will sort it, but best to compare the price to a new driver first.

5. mrkreuzschlitz

mrkreuzschlitz

Jun 30, 2008
    Dacula, GA
    Chances are your local amp tech can point you to the right people, you could probably even ship it out to a reputable company and save some dough.