Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I've no knowledge of music theory, so....

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Rockin John, Jan 29, 2002.

1. Here's what might be the silliest question for a while.

We messed about with a cover last rehersal, changing it about for our own needs.

We played it in D. I found that the following notes each sounds fine when played individually, with the note, D:

D,C,G, Bflat,C,D.

Obviously D is the octave, and I guess the others form part of the key of D.

The guitarist plays all those chords whilst I hit D on the bass. They all sound fine except Bflat.

I'm not sure what's happening here.

Any wisdom, please guys?

Thanks.

John

2. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    B flat is min6 in key of D. Maybe okay as passing tone to D7. Would be at home in Locrian mode, or if, say, modulating to G minor.

Don't need theory. If sounds wrong, no play. No play.

3. Yvon

Yvon Supporting Member

Nov 2, 2000
    Montreal, Canada
    moved to GI

4. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    tee-hee. You crack me up Ed.

5. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    Fuqua here! Fuqua smart!

6. Try to learn a little more about chords John, find out how the diferent chords are built.

Also ask the guitar player what kind of chord it is, I have played with tons of guitar players who will say "D", personally I would assume D major, sometimes this is not the case.

Also learn what the different thirds sound like, if you can hear that you will have taking a big chunk out of relying on the guitar players knowledge.