I've seen the light..

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by patrickj, Jul 9, 2002.

1. patrickj

Aug 13, 2001
    Baltimore, MD
    I finally understand why people like Fender J/P basses. I've hated them with a passion.. closest I could tolerate was MM/copies.

They sound damn good. They're ugly as sin (IMO), but they sound amazing.

Yes, I realize I'm a bit slow on the draw here ;) esp. as I've been bassing for almost 10 years :p. One of those "A Hah!" moments.. (at mars music no less).
  2. patrickj

Aug 13, 2001
    Baltimore, MD
    I've also got major GAS for a 4 string Cort Curbow unlined fretless (gas gas).. but that's OT ;)
  3. Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    I was like you. Hated Fenders. Then one day, BANG I saw the light. Then I just knew Fender's weren't bad at all. Now it's graduated to full blown GAS for a P bass...

They're a classic for a good reason.
  4. Cort45

Mar 1, 2002
    US, TX, Austin
    yea, when i first went looking for a bass anything that said fender i wanted to avoid simply because their such a huge company and i figured their stuff was mass produced cheaply. Then, one day at brook mays, i picked up a jazz bass and I was really impressed. now im building one and its gonna be sweet.
  5. Jarrod

Jan 1, 2002
    Los Angeles, CA
    i was the same way too... i didn't like fender instruments simply because of their ubiquity... until i actually played one and fell in love
  6. barroso

Aug 16, 2000
    GLAD YOU DID, Fender rule!
  7. I have nothing negative to say about Fender except perhaps that their prices are a bit high. Every MIA Fender I've ever played has sounded great, and most of the time they weren't setup properly (Sam Ash:mad: ).

8. Ívar Þórólfsson

Ívar Þórólfsson Mmmmmm... Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2001
    Kopavogur, Iceland
    I know exactly what you´re talking about.

I also have hated Fender J/P since I first picked up bass many, many moons ago.