1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, remove most ads and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

J-Neck on a P-Body?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by jrock111, Oct 10, 2000.

1. jrock111

jrock111

Oct 10, 2000
    Wisconsin
    I am pretty new to playing the bass. I got a great deal on a MIM P-bass. To cheap to pass up. However, after going to the music stores and playing the J-bass, I prefered the feel of the neck more. I was wondering if the necks and bodys of these two basses are interchangable. I know that Fender makes the P-bass special which is that configuration, but I don't know if thats custom made. Any feedback would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

2. Rumblin' Man

Rumblin' Man Banned

Apr 27, 2000
    Route 66
    The MIM J bass neck will fit on a MIM P body. As will many aftermarket replacement necks, however, the aftermarket ones will probably cost nearly as much as the MIM bass did. You might find a suitable neck for auction somewhere.

The P special is a standard production item.

3. The MIM Deluxe P Bass Special is definitely worth a look.
    I've had one for a few months now and love it, especially the jazz type neck.
    They do cost a little more than the standard MIM Precision, but still amazing value for money, plus you get that extra jazz pick-up.
    If you have only just bought your standard P bass maybe it’s worth telling the store you made a mistake and would they change it for the special without you loosing too much money. If they are a good store and want to keep your future custom it’s likely that they will do this.

4. DaveB

DaveB

Mar 29, 2000
    Toronto Ontario
    Like you I went through the J neck on a P body as the best possible combination. But in the end I wound up coming full circle. I now have both a Jazz and Precision and have given up on the "combo" configuration.