1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Jacksonville, FL

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by MJ5150, May 9, 2010.

1. MJ5150

MJ5150 Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 12, 2001
    Olympia, WA
    Off I go Sunday night to Jacksonville. I'm actually working in Douglas, Georgia but opted to fly into Jacksonville so I could make a quick run down to Gainesville on Monday when I land.

I'll be around Monday through Thursday.

-Mike

2. Steve

Steve

Aug 10, 2001
    When you get to Lawtey on 301 and you see that sign the says, "Speed limits strictly enforced" you had better by God believe it. You'll be OK through Starke but then you'll hit Waldo and had better slow it down again. Seriously, they will nail you at 1 mile over and it'll cost you $150. Each additional mile over is like $12.

I used to be a paramedic in Stark and went through Waldo all lit up one night and some Barney Fife chased me all the way to the burn center in Gainesville and wanted to arrest me in the parking lot as I was pushing a patient into the ER. True story.

You're welcome.

3. ha, thats crazy. please explain in more detail :hyper:

4. LiquidMidnight

LiquidMidnight

Dec 25, 2000
    My girlfriend's originally from Jacksonville. I keep trying to talk her into moving back there (because I hate winter in the North). She keeps telling me that I need to be there in the middle of the summer to experience real heat. I say that it has to be better than a cold winter. :D

5. As someone who has experienced both, you're wrong, your girlfriend is right.

You can always put more clothes on to stay warm, but you can only take off so much to try and stay cool before they arrest you for indecent exposure.